Our History

The first Knights of Columbus council in Saskatchewan was formed in Regina on June 17, 1907, with 64 members. Since then the Knights have grown to more than 150 councils and more than 10,000 members. Included in these numbers are several French, Ukrainian and Filipino councils.

The Knights of Saskatchewan have been active in many worthwhile projects and activities. They are involved in their parishes, communities, and youth programs, support of vocations, education and health systems. Their involvement in community life is a record of outstanding benevolent achievement. During 2003 the Knights of Saskatchewan contributed more than 1.8 million dollars and more than 850,000 hours of volunteer service to charitable causes.


Inaugural Meeting, September 26, 1909

Manitoba – Saskatchewan State Chaplains

1910-13No RecordNo Record
1913-14Bishop O.E. MathieuRegina
1914-16No RecordNo Record
1916-17Rev. William Patton, O.M.I.No Record
1917-19No RecordNo Record
1919-22Very Rev. Dr. J.J. Blair, V. G.Winnipeg
1922-23Rev. F. McMahonRegina

Manitoba – Saskatchewan State Deputies

1909-13Thos. D. Deegan – Territorial Deputy (1906-09 incl Alberta)Winnipeg
1913-15J.J. SmithRegina
1915-16P.A. KennedyBrandon
1916-18J. J. CallahanWinnipeg
1918-20J. J. Leddy – Supreme Director (1919-22)Saskatoon
1920-21J. P. FoleyWinnipeg
1921-22J. H. O’ConnorWinnipeg
1922-23Emmet F. CollinsMoose Jaw


( † indicates deceased)

Dora EtcheverryJohn J. Etcheverry†1964-66
Frances EkvallHerb Ekvall†1968-70
Mary Lucyshyn†Nick P. Lucyshyn -Supreme Director (1974-1977)†1972-74
Julia SaganskiPeter Saganski†1982-84
Val KammermayerJoseph Kammermayer†1986-88
Mary VolkJacob Volk†1974-76
Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: